Lost Movies: Megaforce

In 1982, I was 9 years old and I saw a movie that had no impact on me whatsoever but it was still kickass. I’m talkin’ about Megaforce, starring Barry Bostwick as “Ace Hunter” (seriously) as the leader of a weird sort of para-military group characterized by vehicles with rocket launchers all over them, including motorcycles. As you can imagine, it ruled. Unfortunately, as with many movies from that era, there’s no real home for them anymore. Not worthy of a DVD release or an afternoon showing on TNT, lost movies like Megaforce will eventually be completely forgotten. Thankfully, they can live on at least a little while longer on YouTube…

What other lost movies can you think of?

~ by willtuck on October 30, 2007.

2 Responses to “Lost Movies: Megaforce”

  1. That’s a lot rockets. What’s really cool, though, is that awesome pulsing blue laser. And Barry Bostwick…wow. He will forever be to me the mayor from Spin City. But speaking of “forgotten” movies, did you know he was in a made-for-TV “National Lampoon” satire of Men In Black, called (of course) Men in White? Me neither.

    When I was a young lad, I was into Greek mythology big time. An animated film featuring Perseus and other Greek myths that was really a bit too adult for me called Winds of Change came out when I was 6 or so, and my dad took me to see it. I have yet to meet anyone who also saw it, or at least who remembers seeing it.

    There was also a movie I can remember from the very early eighties, was probably made for TV as well, about a P.I. hired to look into a murder case or something – but it was set in the “near future” and everyone drove electric cars, except the detective, who had a “classic” muscle car. One of the things that stands out about it in my memory is at one point, there’s a woman coming to his apartment and he’s rushing around trying to clean, and he just kind of folded over his bed and it became a couch. This was years before I had even heard of a futon, but they did it the same way.

  2. The first movie that springs to mind is RAD, that bmx movie that I can’t find on DVD.

Leave a Reply

 
