Childhood readings

When I was young I spent a lot of my time reading. Some may say I still do so, but unfortunately things like work tend to get in the way. When I am reading now, I mostly spend my time trying to get through this book list (I just finished Naked Lunch).

But in childhood I had little else to distract me, and I spent lots of time with my nose in a book. If I wasn’t out playing with kids in the neighborhood or eating, I’d be reading some book or magazine. Comic books weren’t really big in my area when I was young, so I missed most of that scene.

I was just thinking the other day about making a list of all the books I’ve ever read. That sounds like a huge task though, especially with my sketchy memory. I figure I’ll at least try to figure out what my favorites have been. I may post in the future about my current favorites, but I’ll keep this to the oldies.
Here’s a short take in no particular order.

*edited for a bit more chronological order

What would be on your lists?

~ by nhak on September 24, 2007.

8 Responses to “Childhood readings”

  1. The Phantom Tollbooth and mostly children’s adapted classics such as Ivanhoe, Robin Hood, and King Aurthur. Dr Suess was big in my household. I also read a lot of tales of the old west for children, but can’t for the life of me remember the name of the series. Choose Your Own Adventure was a popular one as well.

  2. A Wrinkle In Time was required reading for me in two different grades. I couldn’t stand that book.

    The Chrysalids by John Wyndham was quite enjoyable.

  3. @wiwillie: I concur about the Choose Your Own Adventure books. I’d have about 4 of those from the library at the same time. I don’t really know what was so intriguing, though.

    @whatigotsofar: I struggled some with A Wrinkle In Time, but I have an older sister who had read it, so I was trying to prove myself. At some point I ended up enjoying it. I’ll have to check out the other book you mention; I’ve never heard of it.

  4. Oh yeah, Choose Your Own Adventure and the more risque Fighting Fantasy series. Those were some fun books.

  5. Nhak – I think the most fascinating thing about Choose Your Own Adventure is that not only were the stories decent, but they made reading interactive. It was like a game as well as a book. Sort of like adults who are wrapped up in mysteries. I think that’s why I was a big fan of Encyclopedia Brown too.

  6. – mutiny in the time machine: the first book i ever read cover to cover
    – james and the giant peach
    – a light in the attic
    – the redwall series
    – chronicles of narnia

    damn encyclopedia brown! can’t beat that one…

  7. Didn’t Encyclopedia Brown have a base of operations in a junkyard. Damn hobos!

  8. Wrinkle in Time and its sequels, A Wind at the Door and Swiftly Tilting Planet. I loved those books.

    The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

    I had two books of mythology, one that covered Greek mythology and one on Irish/Gaelic mythology (Finn McCool and the Fianna were the most over-the-top heroes ever – I ate that stuff up).

    Lots of Choose-your-own-adventures.

Leave a Reply

 
