I like words ‘n’ stuff

I’m a nerd. I’ll admit it. Specifically, I’m a word nerd. I love to read, I love to write, I love language. When I use instant messenger or “texting” on my cellphone, I write out full sentences and use proper grammar and spelling. You won’t get a message from me that says “R U going 2nite?”

So while perusing yet another “best of” list, PC Magazine’s Top 100 Undiscovered Web Sites, I was thrilled to discover Verbotomy.

Verbotomy is a game wherein each day a new definition is posted on the site, and the competitors merge two other words (or use some other contrivance) to create a new verb that describes said definition. The new verb is scored based on originality (does it appear in a Google search?) and uniqueness (have any other competitors entered it or something like it?) and is then voted on by users of the site. For example, today’s definition:

“A group of runners that moves as a single entity, ignoring traffic signals and pedestrians alike.”

I came up with “clujog” (cluster + jog). I got 11 points (nothing on a Google search, and no one entered it before) and so far have 2 votes. [You may go vote for “clujog” now. I will wait.]

This, my friends, warms the word nerd heart.

~ by mattbear on August 31, 2007.

2 Responses to “I like words ‘n’ stuff”

  1. Sorry, Mattbear, but I had to throw my own hat into the ring and offer up “Pedemob”. I think both our suggestions pale in light of “Joggernaught”, my personal fave.

  2. Pedemob is a good one, man. And I have to confess that joggernaught was my favorite too.

    Assletes would have been my favorite, just because it’s funny, but it sounds more like someone who sits on their butts and complains about how the people actually playing the game play. A more insulting version of “armchair quarterback,” perhaps.

Leave a Reply

 
