Top 9 Albums: The Work Edition

Rumor has it that “Top 10” lists are passe. I have no interest in falling behind the times, so I’m starting a new trend. “Top 9” lists are the new “Top 10” lists. That 10th item was always just thrown in there without much thought anyway, so I’m just going to leave it out.

Now, as far as what this list is and is not. My intent is to itemize the albums that I can readily recall as containing some fantastic music. This means that the list is pretty much half-assed, and I can’t be responsible for leaving things out. The problem is that I’m at work without all my music right now, and my memory is really bad. Some other time when I’m posting from elsewhere I can take a more thorough look through my collection and see what I’ve left out. I’m sure there are a multitude.
I left out any live or compilation albums too, because that’s just cheating. Also, these albums are in no particular order; that would be too much work and just serve to piss people off. I’ve only numbered them so I know when to stop.

  1. The Dark Side of the Moon – Pink Floyd (Money youtube)
  2. Ten – Pearl Jam (Alive youtube)
  3. Doolittle – Pixies (Debaser youtube)
  4. Purple Rain – Prince (live performance of Purple Rain mp3)
  5. 69 Love Songs – Magnetic Fields (All My Little Words youtube, stop me if you’ve seen this one)
  6. The Chronic – Dr. Dre (Nuthin’ But A G Thang youtube)
  7. Paul’s Boutique – Beastie Boys (Looking Down The Barrel of a Gun mp3)
  8. OK Computer – Radiohead (live performance of Airbag youtube)
  9. The Queen is Dead – The Smiths (There Is A Light That Never Goes Out mp3)
~ by nhak on August 30, 2007.

3 Responses to “Top 9 Albums: The Work Edition”

  1. you forgot the “get out of my dreams/get into my car” album

  2. @Jimmer: You’re right! I can’t believe I forgot to at least mention Our Friend Billy. Though from his catalog, I’d have to pick Suddenly, with the ultimate hit “Caribbean Queen”.

  3. Alrighty. My “nine” is very different from yours – we only seem to agree on one. Like yours, in no particular order:

    1. Dark Side of the Moon – Pink Floyd
    2. The Wall – Pink Floyd
    3. Back in Black – AC/DC
    4. Are you Experienced? – Jimi Hendrix
    5. Blue Train – John Coltrane
    6. Licensed to Ill – Beastie Boys
    7. Hooker ‘n’ Heat – John Lee Hooker and Canned Heat
    8. Mezzanine – Massive Attack
    9. Led Zeppelin IV (ZoSo, Symbols, whatever) – Led Zeppelin

Leave a Reply

 
