Other cool races

Willtuck’s below post about the Palio di Siena reminded me of a couple of other videos I’d seen about races (sanctioned or otherwise) through civilized areas.

C’était un rendez-vous is a 10-minute film recorded from the bumper of a (disputed) Ferrari 275 GTB racing through the streets of Paris in 1978. Some argue that the vehicle being driven is actually the director’s (Claude Lelouch) Mercedes Benz 450SEL 6.9 and the Ferrari audio was an over-dubbing. Whatever the car, you can see it pass the Arc de Triomphe and head down the Champs-Elysées and other famous landmarks.

Here’s the best source I can find for the video. It’s actually pretty cool, as it’s a Google Maps mashup that lets you follow the car’s position realtime.

The Isle of Man is an island in the British Isles (map). It is more well-known for motorcycle racing, as the famed Isle of Man TT occurs there annually. But what intrigues me more is the kart racing there. Apparently there’s a pretty big kart racing organization (IOMKRA) that puts on events there. The crazy thing is that these races occur on regular city streets! And not the big ol’ streets we’re used to in the US, but the much more narrow windy kind you find in Europe.

Watch and be impressed. Zooloo, I challenge you!

~ by nhak on August 15, 2007.

2 Responses to “Other cool races”

  1. challenge accepted (link)

  2. First off, I know I’m old because instead of watching those and thinking “I’d love to do that” (as I once would have) I’m just thinking, “Jesus, that’s so unsafe!”
    I am a relic. Time to get some suspenders and sit on my porch telling the damn kids to get off my lawn.

    Watching and reading about Lelouch’s little film took me on a little tangent thought – things like this, underground hidden little things, used to exist and if you had access to them you were supercool. Now, the second it’s been in the hands of two people or more, it’s on the internet. On the one hand, cool because I can watch it, on the other uncool because it destroys the mystique.

Leave a Reply

 
