Obama no like the Flying Spaghetti Monster.

In discussions about Barak Obama’s possible run for the highest office in the land issues of race, experience, and of course stance on issues dominate the discourse. While these are all important things to consider if the man will indeed be a viable Democratic candidate the issue that’s largely overlooked is faith. While Obama’s lack of religion seems to bother no one I know, at least in my small circle of friends that actually do vote, will his lack of belief be a large issue across the country, especially in those easy to stereotype red states?

Some polls would indicate yes. Think about it, discuss, or just tune into the next exciting episode of Lost.

~ by wiwille on October 25, 2006.

4 Responses to “Obama no like the Flying Spaghetti Monster.”

  1. While I’d like to expect my country to be beyond equating electability with religious beliefs, I don’t really think it is so. In a country where we not only book a country singer to sing God Bless America at a World Series baseball game, and actually broadcast it nationally it’s obvious that religion holds a lot of water.
    It goes without saying that when I say “religion” I really mean a standard mainstream Christian religion. Whether or not a leader is a believer themselves it seems pretty standard to at least tip a hat to the mass of the population that does.
    I myself used to be a regular church-goer, and even went on a few mission trips throughout my youth. I no longer view this as too important in my life, and I like to think I’ve replaced it with other positive influences. I have lots of friends who are still pretty religious, though. We keep up and still hang out and I consider them pretty good friends. I don’t think that a difference in spirituality is by indicative of any further fundamental differences, and certainly doesn’t make someone untrustworthy, or so much separated from me that they can’t represent me accurately in a political arena.
    Really religion is just gone a bit nuts in this country and around the world, and at this point I can’t think of how to reign it back in.

  2. oops, I wrote a lot.

  3. I think whether you are a church-goer or not It might just be more appealing to vote for someone with a certain amout of humbleness. Believeing in a higher power does it for most. Compared to someone who believes in nothing and is held accountable to no one. Being a bit of a cynic, I’ve never put much stock in religion. I still respect ones that can. Just a thought.

  4. This will come as a surprise to no one who knows me, but if he were an athiest or an agnostic, then he would go up in my estimation. I would be more likely to vote for him knowing that.

    However, everything that I’ve read points to him at least saying he’s a Christian, like virtually every politician in our country. See http://obama.senate.gov/podcast/060628-call_to_renewal_keynote/index.html

Leave a Reply

 
