Cross-promotion

I was watching football the other day. I think it was the Cal-Oregon game,  but I’m not completely sure. Something I saw just before the game got me thinking.

I’ve posted about Ok Go before. I’ve been listening to their Oh No! CD a lot lately, and it seems like they’re gettin’ more media play as well. They actually had an advertising spot before this game, where they had teamed up with then network to promote watching football on that station (which I was already doing, thank you very much). The thing is, they had reworked one of their songs (Invincible) for this ad. They changed the first line from ” When they finally come to destroy the earth they’ll have to go through you first” to “When they finally come to claim the turf, they’ll have to defeat you first” or something like that.

At first I was quite pissed. I like bands that stay true to their art and that kind of crap tends to get me going. Later as I thought about it though, I decided what the hey. If I was in a band and we were starting to make it big time a) I would do pretty much whatever to take advantage of this, and b) I would definitely jump on an opportunity to promote something I like and cheer for myself. Maybe the guys from OK Go are huge college football fans. How would I know?

In the end without knowing the individuals well I have no way to determine if they are in it for the money or are really fans. I can be negative and jump to the regular conclusions, but I have no real proof either way. I’ll take it in a positive light and just to watch their music videos again.

~ by nhak on October 10, 2006.

3 Responses to “Cross-promotion”

  1. I had a similar argument with our own Willtuck once, regarding John Densmore’s refusal to let Cadillac use a Doors song in a commercial. Will’s stance was that he was just keeping the other guys from making money, and it was ridiculous.

    My feeling is, artists or not, these guys do this to make money. What’s the difference if they make that money through album sales, or doing a commercial? The only reason I sided with Densmore in my argument with Will is that The Doors had previously agreed to not sell their music like that; Densmore was sticking by their principles. I see no evidence that Ok Go had such a principle in place to stand by, and that’s fine. Selling your art is cool, no matter who you’re selling it to, as long it is cool with you and your plan.

    I would think less of someone who sold their art/whatever to someone or something that goes against their beliefs or opinions. If some band that sang about saving the environment suddenly sold a song to Exxon, well…that’s hypocrisy, and I (as a hypocrite, just like you and everyone else) just can’t stand for that.

    The whole question always leads me back to the “Kamp Krusty” episode of The Simpsons, when Krusty admits to being in on the scam:

    “They backed a truckload of money up to my house. I’m not made of stone!”

  2. I’m kinda with Mattbear on this one. Sting promotes himself as a true enviormentalist, but endorses cars that have no interest in low MPG.

    I’m not angered with the band for doing this as yes they do this to make case, but for selfish reasons I hate hearing my favorite song in a commercial. I don’t want my first memory of the time I heard that song to muddle into one where I first associate a product.

  3. Yeeaahh, They sure don’t LOOK like football fans.

Leave a Reply

 
