I love cemetaries

This past weekend I was in Lakeview Cemetary in Seattle showing a friend Bruce and Brandon Lee’s graves. He had not seen them before, but I knew right where they were as I used to live across the street and had visited them often.

Crows often hang about Lakeview Cemetary, especially in the fall. I’ve always wanted to go set up a camera and use some breadcrumbs to lure a crow to the top of Brandon Lee’s tombstone and get a photo of it. Maybe one of these days I’ll actually do that. 

I actually enjoy visiting cemetaries, as I find them quite peaceful and very interesting. I like to look for the oldest tombstone in the cemetary, or the most decorative, or the most plain.

On the way out of the cemetary, said friend asked me if I knew much about Freemasonry, as there were many tombstones with Freemason stuff on them. I told him what little I know (mostly what I’ve read in Wikipedia). Now I guess I’ll have to direct him to this blog I just found that discusses cemetaries and tombstone symbolism. I find very interesting.

~ by mattbear on September 25, 2006.

3 Responses to “I love cemetaries”

  1. I live near Jimmi Hendrix’s grave, newly remodeled and it’s quite a site. What’s interesting about it is it’s the first grave site I’ve seen that features ashtrays. No kidding.

    What’s even more interesting is that there is a huge gravesite near there that has over 200 tombstones all modeled in an Asian design. Only about 20 of them are occupied. In the middle there’s a huge fountain complete with Asian roof. In the back there’s four fenced off tombstones, one of which is occupied. You should check it out.

  2. I will definitely have to check that out. I went to Jimi’s plot once, back then it was just a simple square stone in the ground.

  3. I remember going to all 3 of their graves. I Like mattbear has commented, I have only been to jimmi’s grave when it was a stone in the ground. I haven’t personally seen the new plot yet. But The Lee’s graves are in a pretty decent spot.

    –LP

Leave a Reply

 
