Football is Life

I love sports and I love movies. I often like them combined as well, such as when we’re given a film like Rocky, or Rudy, or other movies not starting with the letter “R“.

It seems like this year is overflowing with movies around football, though. I imagine it’s just a confluence of random factors like back in 1997-8 with all the catastrophe films. I wonder if there is an increased interest in football that caused the rash of movies, or perhaps if the reverse is true. Maybe football will gain popularity because of these movies.

I just watched Invincible the other day, which I think was fantastic. I like Mark Wahlberg, and have enjoyed seeing him progress as an actor. Plus there’s something in the human spirit that just wants to be challenged and to be able to excel like Vince Papale does in the movie.

Then there’s The Rock’s latest vehicle, Gridiron Gang. I’m usually entertained by Dwayne Johnson’s movies, even if I’m not mentally stimulated. I do like him as a wrestler-turned-action-actor better than John Cena. Cena just looks like a stone-faced robot to me.

Just today I saw a trailer for We Are Marshall, a movie about the Marshall football team tragedy in 1970. It looks like a pretty good film about a true event. No doubt I’ll end up watching this as well when it comes out. In the meantime, here’s the trailer: 

~ by nhak on September 19, 2006.

3 Responses to “Football is Life”

  1. I think a large part of the swell in currently-releasing sports films (and particularly football films) can be traced to “Friday Night Lights” from 2004. It usually takes 2-3 years from the pitch or greenlighting of a movie for it to reach theaters. Friday Night Lights came out to critical acclaim, sending studios scrambling for a heart-string pulling football movie.

  2. Why no movies about jai alai? Hell, there’s been a movie about lawn bowling and even one about curling.

  3. Heh. My friend loves Men With Brooms. He watches it all the time to prep for curling season. Plus my sister’s fiance wants to take me to play sometime.

Leave a Reply

 
