One small step for a woman…

Anousheh Ansari, a member of the family that put up the $10 million Ansari X-Prize, has become the first female private-citizen space traveler. Now, one can list off all kinds of firsts, and there have been both female space explorers and private space explorers already. But when it comes to private citizens going into space, I think each one is worth celebrating. I’m not sure what real value space exploration of any kind has yet, but I do feel it is worthy. Maybe someday it’ll get us off this rock and give a group of humans a chance to start anew and not fuck up the planet they’re on.

Anyway, my congratulations to Anousheh Ansari, with wishes for a safe landing.

~ by mattbear on September 18, 2006.

4 Responses to “One small step for a woman…”

  1. I’d hit it.

  2. Ah, elevating the discussion as always. Here’s this brave woman, getting launched into space, and your comment is “I’d hit it.”

    Yeah, I would too.

  3. Ah, sorry.

    “Congratulatons, rich lady, on your fortuitous birth and status in life! May you continue to do really cool shit.”

    She’s rich, she’s going into space and she can make babies. That’s awesome, I guess, but continuing to call out “Holy shit, check out what this CHICK is doing!” kinda actually devalues what they’re doing, and if we’re gonna go around devaluing, I’ll do it the old fashioned way and default to hittin’ it. After which I may quit it.

  4. “…in space” now replaces “…in bed” on all fortune cookie predictions.

Leave a Reply

 
