I Can’t Drive… 55!!!!

So I’ve mentioned driving too fast for my own good before. Bear in mind that I don’t do this often. I’m usually a pretty safe driver, and compared to most of my friends I kind of putt along while within civilization. Put me out in the middle of the desert though, and I tend to let my right foot drop a bit more.

Choice music tends to have this same effect as well. Autoblog recently posted an article with a set of driving mixes titled “Songs to listen to… IF YOU WANT A SPEEDING TICKET“. Some of them are decent, but others include things like Peter Gabriel or Little Feat. Readers also included some of their own lists. As of yet nobody has included anything by Golden Earring yet though, which is a travesty!

What would you include? We can make a Billy / Get Into My Speeding Car mix.

~ by nhak on September 7, 2006.

6 Responses to “I Can’t Drive… 55!!!!”

  1. Obviously the ideal mix would be:

    1. Get Outta My Dreams and Into My Car, Billy Ocean
    2. Carribean Queen, Billy Ocean
    3. When the Going Gets Tough, Billy Ocean
    4. There’ll Be Sad Songs (to slow it down a bit), Billy Ocean
    5. Carribean Queen again (cuz it rules)
    6. Fuck Like a Beast, W.A.S.P.
    7. Loverboy, Billy Ocean

  2. Well, you have to include “I can’t drive 55”. It’s like a rule or something. And, as you alluded to, “Radar Love” by Golden Earring.

    Then there is (in no particular order):

    1. Trans Am (Highway Wonderland), by Montrose
    2. Bad Motor Scooter, by Montrose
    3. Mob Rules, by Black Sabbath
    4. Seven Nation Army, by The White Stripes
    5. Traitor, by Motorhead
    6. (virtually anything else by Motorhead)
    7. Dragula, by Rob Zombie
    8. Knocking at Your Back Door, by Deep Purple
    9. This Your Life, by The Dust Brothers (from the Fight Club soundtrack)
    10. Born to be Wild, by Steppenwolf

    Alright, I’m an old rocker and mostly listen to music created prior to 1985. So sue me.

  3. Anything by Nickelback!

  4. […] Inspired by this post, I decided to sift through what music I had available on my ‘puter and compile something that one might listen to when driving at an accelerated rate. Sure, a lot of the songs are old, but I think they work for this theme. If anyone would like this mix, lemme know and I’ll send it to you. […]

  5. Strangley ‘Loving You’ is absent from any list.

  6. A mix containing Nickelback would not so much be a “driving fast” mix, so much as a “driving fast off a cliff” mix.

Leave a Reply

 
