Old Brit makes the news via YouTube

I’ve been hesitating to post anything here about ol’ Peter from the UK because he’s been mentioned on metafilter, boingboing, etc. over the last few days. However, I think it’s warranted given my continuing thread of posts about internet fame.

Peter is a 79 year old bloke from England, a retired widower. Just last week he started using YouTube to post videos, and immediately garnered huge attention because of his age. The generation gap between him and the average “YouTuber” is incredible. Peter is getting written up not only in online publications, but print ones as well.

Peter’s appeal is not only that he is possibly the oldest YouTube user, but also the content of his videos. They aren’t “all that” visually, though he does throw in some slideshow and music clips. It’s Peter himself. Telling the story of his life in an even, measured, relaxing voice, he sits in his chair and often has his eyes closed. The man is clearly very intelligent, and unlike so many of the “popular” on YouTube, he’s too old for it to go to his head. At the end of one video, after he’s found out that thousands of people have been watching his clips, he breaks down and cries a little because he’s moved that people he doesn’t know care enough to watch and listen to him.

This guy may be the last genuine thing on the internet. I have to confess, I created a YouTube account just so I could “subscribe” to Peter’s videos and see each one as he posts them. I don’t care how much older he is than others posting videos, I watch his stuff because it interests me. Don’t pass on his videos thinking he’s just an interesting anomaly in the youth-centric video blog act.

~ by mattbear on August 14, 2006.

2 Responses to “Old Brit makes the news via YouTube”

  1. Hey guys,
    I have an iMac G5 running tiger 10.4.7 and I an having a wierd problem. Whenever I go to a site that has an embedded youtube, flash or some kind of video, there is no sound. If it a quicktime file there is no problem. There is not sound no matter what broswer I use, firefox, camino, safari, or shiira. And keep in mind that about a week ago I was not having this issue.

    Help Would be awesome
    Thanks!

  2. You have to upgrade to a 28.8kbps modem and clear the RISC cache on the Gibson, man.

Leave a Reply

 
