DJ Shadow: Showbox Sept. 20th

From The Stranger:

“Mondays are mad hectic for me, so all I’m gonna do here is cut and paste this press release for a show that will interest many of you, if I may make a brazen assumption: DJ Shadow with Lateef at Showbox, Sept. 20. Tix go on sale Friday Aug. 11 at noon. Shadow’s forthcoming album, The Outsider, has been getting much hype about its hyphy-ness (see the cover story of the new Urb). I haven’t heard it yet (if you have, let us know what you think), but am very curious.”

For those who have never seen DJ Shadow live, he can throw down a party like none other. I suppose the Showbox is an ok venue for this, at least it’s a 21+ only gig (that’s not to say there won’t be young groupies minors in there with fake IDs). In any case, I recommend this to anyone that has a chance to see it.

On a side note, I’ve had a chance to preview The Outsider, and it’s an interesting mix of songs. The majority of the album is composed of party cuts with catchy, hyphy beats, and a few eclectic/funk/downtempo songs that are more signature to Shadow’s style of beat composition. This is a hate it or love it album, and I have a feeling it’s not going to be loved as much as some are hyping it to be. Who knows though, The Funky Skunk album/mixtape was great, but not everyone really knew about it.

~ by zooloo on August 14, 2006.

4 Responses to “DJ Shadow: Showbox Sept. 20th”

  1. How sample-heavy is it? Any vocals, or is it more instrumental? I guess I’m asking, if I liked “Endtroducing”, am I going to like “The Outsider”?

  2. Alright, I like electronica and techno, but it isn’t what I primarily dig on. So I have to show my ignorance and ask, “What the hell is hyphy (or hyphy-ness)?”

    Yes, I could fuckinggoogleit.com, but I find it more fun to ask you people.

  3. not all the songs are sampled, there was a lot of production work done with the beats (synth, mpc and sequencer type sounds). it’s a bit of a contrast to the style of endtroducing. i read a few interviews where he talked about this album [prior to completing it], and he was going a different direction in sound than what we are mostly familiar with. that said, you may only like some songs off this album.

    i personally like this one, but it’s not my favorite.

  4. hyphy is a sound coined by e-40; it’s the west coast equivalent to crunk music (dirty south bass beats, lots of synth).

Leave a Reply

 
