Recipe time!

While walking past some blackberry bushes today, I noticed that it is that time of summer when blackberries are big and ripe. I need to go pick me some. And when I do, I am going to recreate this dessert idea I came up with last year. (Note: I came up with this on my own, but I do not claim it is original)

My recipes don’t have amounts or measurements, because I don’t really measure shit. I just put it in there til it looks, smells, or tastes right. Anyway:

Get yourself some apples – one per person you need to make dessert for. My preference is Pink Lady apples, but get whatever you like. The tartness of a Granny Smith might make this dessert even more interesting…

Cut out the core of the apples. Leave the apple otherwise intact, you basically just want a big hole in the center of each apple. Spread a little bit of brown sugar around the inside of the apple. Not too much, this thing is going to be sweet enough on its own. Put the apples on a baking sheet and throw them in the oven at 325 degrees.

While the apples are baking, put a mess load of blackberries in a blender or food processor. Liquify ’em. Once they’re a nice liquid, put it in a bowl and stir in some powdered sugar (powdered! not granulated) until it thickens up a little. Not too much – just get it to where it sticks to the side of the bowl and kind of oozes down. Yum.

Check the apples about every 5 minutes or so, they won’t take long. Once the inside is a nice golden color and the skin looks like it will just peel right off, pull those bad boys out. Put each on a small plate and fill the center with vanilla ice cream. (My preference is Tillamook Vanilla Bean, but do what you like.) You need to do this quickly. The ice cream will start melting out the bottom, but that’s ok, it’s part of the presentation. Liberally pour your blackberry glaze over the apples. Let it make some lines in the melting ice cream on the bottom – that’s easy presentation flash.

Serve quickly, with forks. Enjoy a sweet summer time treat.

~ by mattbear on August 10, 2006.

6 Responses to “Recipe time!”

  1. that’s some frugal gourmet shit right there.

  2. Heh…I actually learned to cook by watching the Frugal Gourmet show, and I own several of his cookbooks. Too bad he turned out to be a pedophile. Oh well.

  3. I love cooking without measuring! That’s why I often whip up some soup. Just put stuff in until it’s liquidy and tasty. Done.

    I’ve had much less luck with sloppy baking. That’s why I tend to weigh everthing when I make bread now.

  4. Yes, baking requires very exact measurements. True bakers do not refer to “recipes” – they use “formulas”. They really are complex formulas too.

    Baking is not cooking, and cooking is not baking. Rarely is someone truly great at both. I can cook my arse off, but I can’t bake. I can eff up a Duncan Hines mix.

  5. The Frugal Gourmet is a pedophile?

  6. From Wikipedia: “His public career came to an end when two of his male assistant chefs brought charges of sexual harassment against him. Shortly thereafter, in 1998, several men alleged that he had sexually assaulted them in the 1970s, when they worked for him. Smith denied the accusations. He was taken off the air shortly afterward. Though he was never charged with a crime, he settled with the plaintiffs out of court, and never returned to the airwaves.”

Leave a Reply

 
