Gettin’ a Tattoo

I’ve been pondering getting a tattoo lately. At this point I’m still trying to plan the look in my head. While thinking about tattoo designs the other day I was reminded of this.

~ by nhak on August 3, 2006.

4 Responses to “Gettin’ a Tattoo”

  1. Heh…being a “marked man” myself, I love that video. Awesome. I never owned a Nintendo as a youth, so when he first says “Bowser”, I thought of Bowser from Sha-Na-Na. You guys probably have no idea what I’m talking about there, though.

    Some advice on getting a tat:

    1. Come up with a rough idea of what you want.
    2. Check around, ask around, find an artist whose work you like and would fit the idea you have.
    3. Schedule a consultation. At the consultation, present your idea, and listen to what ideas the artist has for it. Don’t be afraid to say “no” to their ideas, but don’t be afraid to incorporate them into your idea either.
    4. Give yourself a couple of weeks between the consult and the appointment to actually do (or start) the tat. Think about it. Is it something you really want to have on you for the rest of your life, that you’ll never get tired of or regret?
    5. Don’t worry about how it will look when you’re 70. When you’re 70, you’re going to be old and wrinkled and won’t give a crap what you look like anyway.

    I went in with a very solid idea of what I wanted for my tatoo. The artist presented some different ideas and suggestions, and I liked them. The tattoo I have now I like much better than the original idea I had. It still has the same elements (a yin yang and fire – I’m so original!), but it looks very different from my original plan.

  2. I just got my first tattoo about a month ago, and now I’m looking to get another one. I have one on my lower back. Now I want to get one by my hips leading to my stomach. I’ve been searching designs all morning, but I can’t seem to find one that I like.

  3. I’m getting “The Moon Rulez #1” on my ass. Or a butterfly. Whichever.

  4. Well this’ll be my first. Judging by the type of t-shirts I like, I won’t have any words (Thanks, Will). I want something with a natural feel, but I really like stylized things right now. I have a shirt that’s a very clean picture of a tree, and I really dig that style of work. I’m still pondering on how that’ll translate to ink on my bod, though (I appreciate the pointers Matt).

    Trust me, I won’t be getting it on my lower back, but thanks for the idea, Ana. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
