Now what?

I just discovered that I am only wearing one contact lens. I haven’t yet sorted out the severity of this situation. Should I immediately leave work and claim a sick day? I’m nearsighted, so technically I could still work. The computer monitor is most decidedly within my field-of-vision. Combine that with the fact that I’ve successfully worked through a few hours of my day, and I probably can’t legitimately claim to be hampered by this too much. Maybe calling in sick is a little extreme.

Am I going to be able to walk in a straight line and find all my destinations correctly? Perhaps I will walk in a circle because I can only see half of my world in perfect clarity. “It seems safer to go to the right at this intersection, much like the last.”

Did I endanger others on my way to work this morning? I obviously made it fine, and I didn’t notice any more angry gestures than I have aimed in my direction. Plus if I mention driving being dangerous then I might have to stay at work indefinitely, and I really don’t want that.

~ by nhak on July 25, 2006.

One Response to “Now what?”

  1. As I understand it, wearing only one contact is what caused the tuberculosis epidemic in New York in the late 90s. Way to go, Nick! You’re so selfish!

Leave a Reply

 
